West Bengal By-Elections 2024:  TMC has announced its candidates on Friday for the by-elections to be held on two seats of West Bengal. The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) has given a ticket to actress-leader Sayantika Banerjee for the by-election to be held on June 1 from the Baranagar assembly seat in the North 24 Parganas district of the state.

The party has given a ticket to Reyat Hussain Sarkar for the by-election to be held on May 7 in the Bhagabangola assembly seat of Murshidabad district. The party announced the names of the candidates on X.

Sayantika had lost in the 2021 assembly elections

Sayantika Banerjee, who joined TMC before the 2021 assembly elections in West Bengal, was then fielded by the party as its candidate from Bankura seat, but she lost. TMC sources said that despite losing from Bankura, the actress continued to work for the party in the district after being given organizational responsibility and made the state general secretary.

He had expressed disappointment after the party declared MLA Arup Chakraborty as its candidate from Bankura Lok Sabha seat. Incidentally, party supremo Mamata Banerjee, before announcing the list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, had said that those who were not made candidates, would be used elsewhere by the party.

Will contest elections against Sajal Ghosh

The actress will contest against BJP candidate Sajal Ghosh from Baranagar assembly seat. This seat was vacant after former TMC leader Tapas Roy resigned from the post of MLA before leaving the party. The Bhagabangola assembly seat of Murshidabad district has become vacant after the death of TMC MLA Idris Ali. BJP has made Bhaskar Sarkar its candidate from Bhagabangola.